Know Where You Stand


This weeks band recommendation goes to a band i’ve had the pleasure of gigging with; Know Where You Stand.

They are a 5 piece Progressive Metal/Hardcore band from Ajax, Ontario consisting of Aaron Black on Vocals, Reid Maclean and Stephen Grande on Guitar, Brandon Smith on Bass and Chris Davies on Drums.

I actually had a hard time choosing the next Band Recommendation because there are actually many amazing bands in the local scene, but I felt I needed to give KWYS some exposure, as they not only play shows, they put on shows themselves. As far as I know, they have booked many of the recent Metal shows at The Top Shelf, and don’t seem to be stopping anytime soon.

Ontop of that, they are all extremely talented musicians. I mean it, these guys can fucking shred. I personally have never enjoyed a local bands live set as much as I did when I saw these guys at the 04/03/10 with Uplift, Denied Existence, Falling Forward, As You Like Me and We Are Alaska. My neck was literally sore for an entire week.

They are in the process of recording an EP in Hamilton called “Hopefully”, and from what i’ve heard from their live set, its going to hit the Metal/Hardcore scene pretty hard when it drops. I will personally be purchasing one for myself.

KWYS has a home demo up on their Myspace that can be listened to by all titled Let the good times be rolled.

You can catch Know Where You Stand at The Top Shelf on April 23rd with On Burning Shores, This is Death Valley and more!

KWYS can be heard @

http://www.myspace.com/knowwhereyoustand

About Andrew

Founder of The Running Board Press View all posts by Andrew

Leave a comment